Steel Valley inducts 22 new members into high school National Honor Society

Steel Valley National Honor Society

The Steel Valley High School National Honor Society Apollo Chapter inducted 22 new members into the organization during a ceremony held inside the auditorium on Friday, April 26.

The 53rd annual induction ceremony welcomed Steel Valley students who have achieved the requirements for inclusion in the National Honor Society and who embody its traits of character, scholarship, leadership, and service.

Steel Valley NHS president Joe Nguyen welcomed the attendees before current members Duane Carter, Kacey Stoker, Haneef Capers, and Shelby Novak each spoke about each of the core traits of National Honor Society members.

Steel Valley School District Superintendent Mr. Bryan Macuga led the new members through the oath of membership before advisor Mrs. Gwendolyn Berchok and principal Mr. John Strom presented the new members with certificates officially welcoming them into the National Honor Society. Senior members were awarded medallions, which they will be able to wear during commencement.

Each year, Steel Valley teachers make a selection for the Outstanding Student Award. Two seniors received the honor this year: Ava Caiarelli and Michayla Rager.

Steel Valley students recognize a teacher each year who goes above and beyond in the classroom. This year's Outstanding Teacher Award was presented by Steel Valley NHS vice president Alaina Hartnett to math teacher Mr. Timothy Vickers.

New members of the Steel Valley National Honor Society include Elbachir Benboujema, Logan Brady, Christopher Burgman, Darwin Burns, William Coyne, Abigail Curran, Abigail Fitzgerald, Michael Guzzi, Max Holby, Kamryn Hutching, Eric Keeley, Alexis Menefee, Piper Olack, Ryan Packer, Layla Rager, Darrion Rozzo, Ava Ryan, Sophia Sabo, Kylie Salopek, Tori Stabryla, Elaina Tichon, and Ashanti Wilson-Purifoy.

They join current members Oksana Bylstone-Gegick, Ava Caiarelli, Haneef Capers, Duane Carter, Janice Chen, Christina Gallagher, Isabella Gardini, Madison Gillespie, Alaina Hartnett, John Heddleston, Dalton Kraft, Tiera Menefee, Joe Nguyen, Shelby Novak, Caitlyn Perhacs, Michayla Rager, Isabella Ruston, and Kacey Stoker.

A full gallery of photos from the induction ceremony is available to view here.

The Steel Valley National Honor Society

The new inductees into the Steel Valley National Honor Society